
Jobs, everyone’s worried about jobs. Whatever happened to tilling the fields in
obscurity? The economy is just a trick, like stealing someone's nose, but lately people
seem to have seen through it, like when you realize someone hasn’t really stolen your

nose. So now everyone’s joining a guild, learning a craft, and working on a masterpiece
- a painting so beautiful it blinds you, or a cheese grater so amazing that you never eat
cheese again. The only people left tilling the fields are the ones doing it ironically. The

guilds cover everything - ironic tilling, butchering, baking, candlestick making,
shoemaking, cheesemaking, cheese destruction. Your advisor is convinced that

somehow, control of the stonecutters is key to world domination. Very well. You will
have stone handled so expertly that the world trembles before you.

This is the 8th addition to the game of Dominion. It adds 13 new Kingdom cards to
Dominion. It has coin tokens that you can save to spend later, and cards you can get

more out of by paying extra for them.

We hope you enjoy this expanding world of Dominion! 
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150 cards
130 Kingdom cards, 10 each of:

13 Randomizer cards (back): 7 blank cards

name (Baker)

card ability

card format: card type
(action-white)

cost (5 coins)
25 Coins

To play with Guilds, you need a complete Dominion game such as the original
Dominion or Dominion: Intrigue. These provide the Basic cards 

you need to play (Treasure, Victory, and Curse cards), as well as the full 
rules for setup and gameplay. Dominion: Guilds can also be 
combined with any other Dominion expansions you have.
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Guilds includes 13 randomizer cards (one for each Kingdom card in Guilds). Players will need
the Treasure cards, Victory cards, Curse cards, and Trash card from either Dominion, a
standalone expansion to Dominion (e.g., Dominion: Intrigue), or the Base Cards set to play
with this expansion. As with previous Dominion games, players must choose 10 sets of
Kingdom cards for each game. If players choose the random approach for choosing sets, they
should shuffle the randomizer cards from this expansion with those of any other Dominion
games they choose to play with.

If Baker is being used this game, each player starts the game with a single coin token.
Otherwise, each player starts with no coin tokens.

Sample game setup:

Treasure cards Victory cards Curse Trash

Kingdom
cards

"In play" - Action cards and Treasure cards played face-up to a play area are in play until they
are moved somewhere else — usually until they are discarded during a Clean-up phase. Only
played cards are in play; set aside cards, trashed cards, cards in the Supply, and cards in hands,
decks, and discard piles are not in play. Reaction abilities do not put those cards into play.

Some cards in Dominion: Guilds give players Coin tokens. Coin tokens always come from the
supply of tokens, not from another player. In a player's Buy Phase, before buying any cards,
that player may spend any number of Coin tokens; each Coin token spent gives that player
+ . Spent tokens are returned to the supply of tokens. Coin tokens are not component-
limited; players may use a substitute if they run out. They are the same tokens that come with
Dominion: Seaside and Dominion: Prosperity, but abilities that give players Coin tokens
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cannot be used to put them on Pirate Ship mats or the Trade Route mat. They can only be
spent in a Buy Phase; they cannot be spent when buying a card via the promotional card
Black Market.

Some cards in Dominion: Guilds can be "overpaid" for. The costs for these cards have a "+"
next to the coin symbol. A player may pay any additional amount for such a card, and then
gets an effect based on how much extra was paid. Potions (from Dominion: Alchemy) may
be used in overpaid amounts if desired, although this is not always meaningful. A player
may choose not to overpay, even if she has extra coins, but cannot choose to overpay ; to
overpay, a player has to actually pay more than the cost. The coins used to overpay are gone
after spending them to overpay; they cannot be then used to buy something else.
Overpaying happens when a card is paid for, which is before it is gained. Players can only
overpay for a card when buying it, not when gaining it some other way. The "+" is just a
reminder; a card with "+" in the cost still has its normal cost for all purposes. For example
if a player plays Haggler (from Dominion: Hinterlands), then buys a Masterpiece,
overpaying, Haggler will still gain her a card costing less than , the cost of Masterpiece.
Similarly, Masterpiece could be the Bane card for Young Witch (from Dominion:
Cornucopia), since it costs . Reducing the costs of cards via cards like Bridge (from
Dominion: Intrigue) or Highway (from Dominion: Hinterlands) does not interact with
overpay; for example, if you play five Bridges and have total to spend, Herald would cost

, but if you bought one the most you could overpay for it would still be .

When two things happen to a player at the same time, that player picks the order to do
them. For example, if a player with Merchant Guild in play buys a Masterpiece, she chooses
whether to take a Coin token first, or overpay for Masterpiece first (in this case the order
would not actually matter, since it is too late to spend the Coin token). When two things
happen to different players at the same time, go in turn order, starting with the player
whose turn it is. For example, if a player plays Soothsayer with only one Curse left in the
Supply, the player to her left gets it.

At any point in the game, if a player has to do anything regarding her Deck (draw, reveal,
set aside, look at, or trash cards), and she needs more cards than are remaining in her Deck,
she must do as many as she can and then shuffle her face-up Discard pile to form a new
face-down Deck. Then, she does the things with the remaining number of cards from her
newly shuffled Deck. If a player’s Deck is empty, she does not shuffle her Discard pile until
she needs to do something with cards from her Deck and cannot.

Players can play Dominion with any set of 10 Kingdom cards, but these sets are intended to
highlight some interesting card interactions and game strategies.

Guilds & Dominion:
Arts and Crafts: Stonemason, Advisor, Baker, Journeyman, Merchant Guild / Laboratory,
Cellar, Workshop, Festival, Moneylender

Clean Living: Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker, Doctor, Soothsayer / Militia, Thief,
Moneylender, Gardens, Village
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Gilding the Lily: Plaza, Masterpiece, Candlestick Maker, Taxman, Herald / Library, Remodel,
Adventurer, Market, Chancellor

Guilds & Intrigue:
Name That Card: Baker, Doctor, Plaza, Advisor, Masterpiece / Courtyard, Wishing Well,
Harem, Tribute, Nobles

Tricks of the Trade: Stonemason, Herald, Soothsayer, Journeyman, Butcher / Great Hall,
Nobles, Conspirator, Masquerade, Coppersmith

Decisions, Decisions: Merchant Guild, Candlestick Maker, Masterpiece, Taxman, Butcher /
Bridge, Pawn, Mining Village, Upgrade, Duke

Advisor: If there are not three cards in your deck, reveal what you
can, then shuffle your discard pile into your deck to get the other
cards. If there still are not enough, just reveal what you can. No
matter how many you revealed, the player to your left chooses one
for you to discard, and the remaining cards go into your hand.

Baker: When you play this, you draw a card, get +1 Action, and
take a Coin token. In games using this card, each player starts the
game with a Coin token. This includes games using the promo
card Black Market in which Baker is in the Black Market deck.

Butcher: First take two Coin tokens. Then you may trash a card
from your hand and pay any number of Coin tokens (returning
them to the pile). The number of Coin tokens you pay can be zero.
Butcher itself is no longer in your hand and so cannot trash itself
(though it can trash another copy of Butcher). If you trashed a
card, you gain a card costing up to the cost of the trashed card plus
the number of Coin tokens you paid. For example, you could trash
an Estate and pay six Coin tokens to gain a Province, or you could
trash another Butcher and pay zero Coin tokens to gain a Duchy.
You can pay the Coin tokens you just got. Paying Coin tokens for
this ability does not get you coins to spend, it just changes what
cards you can gain with this ability.

Candlestick Maker: You get +1 Action and +1 Buy, and take a Coin
token.

Doctor: When you play this, you name a card, reveal the top three
cards of your deck, trash each of those cards that has that name,
and put the other cards back on your deck in any order. You do
not have to name a card being used this game. If there are fewer
than three cards left in your deck, reveal the remaining cards, and
shuffle your discard pile (which does not include those cards) to
get the remainder needed to reveal. If there are still not enough
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cards, just reveal as many as you can. When you buy this, for each
extra you pay over the cost, you look at the top card of your
deck, and either trash it, discard it, or put it back on top. If there
are no cards left in your deck, shuffle your discard pile into your
deck (including any cards already discarded to this overpay ability
this turn), and if there still are no cards in it, you do not look at
one. If you overpay more than , you may do different things for
each card you look at, and you will look at the same card again if
you put it back on top. For example if you bought Doctor for ,
you would look at the top card four times; you might end up first
trashing a Copper, then discarding a Province, then putting a Silver
back on top, then putting that Silver back on top again.

Herald: When you play this, first draw a card and get +1 Action,
then reveal the top card of your deck. If it is an Action card, play
it; this is not optional. Playing the Action card does not "use up"
one of your Action plays for the turn. Cards with multiple types,
one of which is Action (such as Great Hall from Dominion:
Intrigue), are Action cards. If Herald plays a Duration card (from
Dominion: Seaside), the Herald is still discarded normally at end
of turn, as it is not needed to track anything. When you buy this,
you put one card from your discard pile on top of your deck for
each extra you pay over the cost. For example, if you buy Herald
for , you will put two cards from your discard pile on top of
your deck. This card lets you look through your discard pile;
normally you cannot. You cannot look through your discard pile
first to see how much you want to overpay, and once you overpay
you must put the appropriate number of cards on top of your
deck if possible. If you overpay enough to put more cards on your
deck than there are cards in your discard pile, you just put all of
your discard pile onto your deck. You may not look through your
discard pile if you buy Herald without overpaying for it. When you
put multiple cards on your deck due to overpaying for a Herald,
put them on your deck in any order.

Journeyman: This draws you three cards that are not a particular
card. First name a card. It does not have to be a card being used
this game. Then reveal cards from the top of your deck until you
have revealed three cards that are not the named card. If you run
out of cards without finding three, shuffle your discard pile into
your deck and continue. If you still cannot find three, stop. Put the
cards you found that were not the named card into your hand and
discard the rest.

Masterpiece: This is a Treasure worth , like Copper. When you
buy it, you gain a Silver for each extra you pay over the cost. For
example, if you buy a Masterpiece for , you gain three Silvers.
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Merchant Guild: When you play this, you get +1 Buy and + .
While this is in play, any time you buy a card you also take a Coin
token. Remember that you may only spend Coin tokens prior to
buying cards, so you will not be able to immediately spend that
Coin token. This ability is cumulative; if you have two Merchant
Guilds in play, each card you buy will get you two Coin tokens.
However if you play a Merchant Guild multiple times but only
have one in play, such as with Throne Room (from Dominion) or
King's Court (from Dominion: Prosperity), you will only get one
Coin token when you buy a card.

Plaza: First you draw a card and get +2 Actions; then you may
discard a Treasure. You can discard the card you drew if it is a
Treasure. If you discarded a Treasure card, you take a Coin token.
Cards with multiple types, one of which is Treasure (such as
Harem from Dominion: Intrigue), are Treasures.

Soothsayer: The Gold and Curses come from the Supply and go
into discard piles. If there is no Gold left, you do not gain one. If
there are not enough Curses left to go around, deal them out in
turn order, starting with the player to your left. Each player who
gained a Curse draws a card. This is not optional. A player who did
not gain a Curse, whether due to the Curses running out or due
to some other reason, does not draw a card. A player who uses
Watchtower (from Dominion: Prosperity) to trash the Curse did
gain a Curse and so draws a card; a player who uses Trader (from
Dominion: Hinterlands) to gain a Silver instead did not gain a
Curse and so does not draw a card.

Stonemason: When you play this, trash a card from your hand,
and gain two cards, each costing less than the card you trashed.
Trashing a card is not optional. If you do not have any cards left in
your hand to trash, you do not gain any cards. The two cards you
gain can be different or the same. For example you could trash a
Gold to gain a Duchy and a Silver. Gaining cards is not optional if
you trashed a card. The gained cards come from the Supply and are
put into your discard pile; if there are no cheaper cards in the
Supply (for example if you trash a Copper), you do not gain any.
If there is only one card in the Supply cheaper than the trashed
card, you gain that one. The cards you gain are gained one at a
time; this may matter with cards that do something when gained,
such as Inn from Dominion: Hinterlands. When you buy this, you
may choose to overpay for it. If you do, you gain two Action cards
each costing exactly the amount you overpaid. The Action cards
can be different or the same. For example, if you buy Stonemason
for , you could gain two Heralds. The Action cards come from
the Supply and are put into your discard pile. If there are no cards
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with the appropriate cost in the Supply, you do not gain one.
Overpaying with a Potion (from Dominion: Alchemy) will let you
gain cards with Potion in the cost. Cards with multiple types, one
of which is Action (such as Great Hall from Dominion: Intrigue),
are Action cards. If you choose not to overpay, you will not gain
any cards from that ability; it is not possible to use it to gain
Action cards costing .

Taxman: You may trash a Treasure card from your hand. This is
optional. Cards with multiple types, one of which is Treasure (like
Harem from Dominion: Intrigue), are Treasures. If you do trash a
Treasure, each other player with at least five cards in hand discards
a copy of it from her hand if she can, or reveals a hand with no
copies of it, and you gain a Treasure costing up to more than
the trashed Treasure, putting it on top of your deck. If there are no
cards in your deck, it becomes the only card in your deck. You do
not have to gain a more expensive Treasure; you may gain a
Treasure with the same cost, or a cheaper Treasure. You have to
gain a card if you trashed one though, if possible. The gained
Treasure comes from the Supply.

At the start of Natalie's turn in a game between Natalie and Todd, Natalie has a hand of
Butcher, Candlestick Maker, Estate, Copper, Silver. She also has three coin tokens gained on
earlier turns. She plays the Candlestick Maker, getting +1 Action, +1 Buy, and a 4th coin
token. Then she plays Butcher. She gains two more coin tokens, then trashes the Estate from
her hand. She chooses to spend one coin token to gain a Silver, which goes to her discard
pile. Now she has five coin tokens. She is ready for her Buy phase. She plays her Copper and
Silver and has to spend. She decides to spend three of her coin tokens, going down to
two coin tokens but up to to spend. She buys a Stonemason, paying for it. She
overpaid by , so she picks a card costing . She chooses Herald and gains two of them.
She does not get to overpay on the Herald, since she is not buying it, merely gaining it. She
puts the Heralds and Stonemason in her discard pile. She has another buy but only to
spend, and chooses not to use it. She discards her hand and her cards from play. She draws
a new hand of five cards and is done.

Thank you, playtesters: Vinay Baliga, Bill Barksdale, Alex Bishop, Josephine Burns, Wei-Hwa
Huang, Zach Kessler, Michael M. Landers, Tom Lehmann, Billy Martin, Destry Miller,
Anthony Rubbo, John Vogel, Steve Wampler, Jeff Wolfe, the Columbus Area Boardgaming
Society, and the Games Club at Cornell.
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